Complement Anklets – stripes and extra strapazierfähig

I am supposed to be either studying EKG’s in order to quickly identify various types of dysrrhythmias or writing a paper about the safety and transportation concerns in a local neighborhood.

2014-08-22 087

Instead, I am writing about socks.

2014-08-22 033

This should come as a shock to no one. Given the chance between taking pictures of and writing about handknit socks or doing pretty much anything else (unless it is take pictures of and write about homemade ice cream), I will choose the socks every time.

To hell with appropriate time management skills. It’s almost the end of summer! (Although you’d never know it from the 90-degree weather today here in New Orleans.) People on the Internet need to know about handknit socks so that they can get ready for fall and the all-important task of parading about the house in their awesome socks, so I am here for them. They might need some super sassy socks to hurry and put on after they do their ALS Ice Bucket Challenge in their bare feet, like I stupidly did. I am here for them, too. Anyone with cold feet, really.

2014-08-22 044

These were stitched up with Lana Grossa’s Meilenweit Fantasy, a yarn that, according to the label, is both “waschmaschinenfest” and “extra strapazierfähig.”

2014-08-22 040

Great.

2014-08-22 037

2014-08-22 038

I think these heels and toes are where that extra strapazierfähig is really going to come in handy. (And yes, I know what it means. Do you?)

2014-08-22 046

This yarn has been in my stash for such a long time that I’m not even sure what prompted me to buy it. I am not the biggest yarn of the checkerboard stripes in a lot of self-striping yarns, but something about these alternating bands of green, blue, and orange really caught my attention.

2014-08-22 084

Hence the name: Complement Anklets. Get it? Because blue and orange are complementary colors? And because you’ll get lots of compliments when you’re wearing them?

*Cue rimshot, and following crickets*

Anyone else find punny homonym jokes as funny as I do? No? Okay, moving on. Here’s a picture of some fuzzy cat feet along with mine.

2014-08-22 092

Bowie really wanted in on the modeling. He’s a natural.

2014-08-22 073

I used the Yarn Harlot‘s Good, Plain Sock Recipe from Knitting Rules. Again. It is seriously the only plain sock pattern you’ll ever need ever again for your whole life.

2014-08-22 076

Good, plain sock patterns don’t fight with the stripes. They make the stripes front-and-center. They make everyone realize just how important stripes are to you, as a person. They fit just perfect, every single time, and after you make them enough, you don’t even look down at the pattern anymore. You just know what you need to do next and do it, and if knitting socks completely on the fly doesn’t make you feel like a proper knitting badass, nothing else will.

4 thoughts on “Complement Anklets – stripes and extra strapazierfähig

  1. Oh, these are super cute! I’ve been resisting sock knitting for ages now, but Stephanie’s Knitting Rules book has sucked me into it because of her simple instructions. Granted, I think I messed up the heel flap, but I’m willing to push through because how cute are all of these socks you guys make?! I obviously need to be wearing cute me-made socks too!

    I’ve had a wander about your blog and really enjoyed reading your posts. You’ve made some gorgeous projects! Looking forward to seeing more. 🙂

    • Aw thanks! And keeping making socks! Actually, after you finish your first pair, you won’t have any choice in the matter. Beautiful sock yarns will begin to call to you in yarn stores and leap into your hands and you will be forced to comply.

      It’s better to not resist.

      • Oh it’s too late for that. For a non-sock knitter, I sure do have a lot of sock yarn. Especially for someone who prefers knitting with worsted… 😀

  2. Pingback: Drachenschwingen is the greatest name for a pattern. Maybe ever. | jingersnaps

Leave a Reply

