We All Scream for Making Ice Cream. At least, I think that’s how it goes.

For my birthday this year, I treated myself to a bit of an indulgent book purchase.

2013-07-02 141

Not that the book itself is indulgent, but the amazing things inside of it are. Jeni’s Splendid Ice Creams are true to their name, absolutely splendid. It took me a few weeks to even be able to decide on which one to start with on my ice-cream-making adventure. We all know that I’ve had some success with my ice cream maker so far this summer. However, that was with coconut milk and minimal cooking effort. I figured I was ready for the big guns. For boiling milk and cream and the slightest hint of danger.

I mean, that milk could curdle, you guys! It’s downright nerve-wracking.

2013-07-02 105

Hard decisions got made, and Lemon Cream Ice Cream it was. It’s definitely not hard to get me on board with lemons, especially if zesting and juicing is involved.

2013-07-02 106

Zest! Hooray!

Now, proper ice cream making, especially with Jeni’s fantastically detailed method, requires all kinds of planning. Something for which I am not usually known. However, I was up for the challenge here. Lots of pre-planning went down in this kitchen.

2013-07-02 119

And bowls. Lots of bowls. That’s the key to everything here. You need bowls for each separate step and ingredient, and you need to be able to coordinate your bowls with the temperature changes required. And you need a Ziploc bag.

2013-07-02 124

Plus, you need to fold over the edges of your bag so you can pour in your ice cream base. I never remember to do this. I am so proud of myself.

2013-07-02 122

Then whole milk, cream, and sugar got boiled together with lemon zest goodness.

Then there were various mixing steps (obviously not pictured) that required quickness and even more boiling and whisking. This new professional-ice-cream-making Jinger knew better than to try to take pictures and mess it all up. Or maybe I just forgot. Either way.

2013-07-02 125

I even poured my base into that bag without spilling. Amazing.

2013-07-02 131

Then things got spun up. Again, with the nerve-wracking. There’s always the possibility that bad things will happen, and then that there will suddenly be no ice cream. That would be incredibly sad after all this work. And all this mess that had already been made.

2013-07-02 132

2013-07-02 129

That’s another thing. You will make a mess. Unless you are better at things than me.

All that work and pre-planning and mess-making paid off, though, because this beautiful stuff came out of the ice cream maker.

2013-07-02 135

Hooray!

2013-07-02 136

Smoothing out that tangy lemony goodness with your trusty spatula makes you feel pretty dang awesome.

2013-07-02 137

I even remembered the parchment paper step in order to keep our new baby ice cream from freezer burn.

Now. Four hours of freezing means mess-cleaning time.

2013-07-02 140

But it’s all totally okay when you get rewarded for your efforts with this.

2013-07-05 044

Tangy, creamy, lemon amazingness. Jeni is doing something right. This ice cream tastes like pool parties and angel food birthday cake. Picnics and lemonade. Late night strolls and fireworks.

2013-07-05 051

With a smidge of self-satisfaction.

Hooray for ice cream makers and summertime! The only issue here is that I may make this stuff a lot faster than we can eat it. Maybe that’s not really a problem.

3 thoughts on “We All Scream for Making Ice Cream. At least, I think that’s how it goes.

  1. Lady! Your ice cream is too involved for this lil old lady! For a super indulgent ice cream treat, think LIME ICECREAM!
    Three ingredients:…..LIME: 2 tablespoon Lime zest;1/3 cup lime juice
    Caster sugar (3/4 cup)
    Cream (preferably heavy cream) 1 1/2 cups

    Combine lime juice ,zest and sugar; ( I whisk this in a bowl, then I arc up the ice cream mixer and add the above mix to the cream.
    About 20 minutes later the ice cream is ready……..
    It does improve with age/refrigeration/standing……..
    but mine never lasts that long.
    Served in a waffle type cone, they are to die for.

    Tomorrow I am trying (my) vegan version, using coconut cream

    • That sounds awesome! It combines my love of limes with my lack of enthusiasm for doing the dishes.

      And I know that the Jeni’s method seems complicated, but it’s honestly some of the best ice cream I’ve ever had the pleasure of eating, plus the whole thing gets much easier the more you repeat it. And summer is coming up, so there will be plenty of repeating it I’m sure.

      I look forward to trying some of your lime ice cream, too! Thanks so much for letting me know about the recipe!

  2. Pingback: Frozen Yogurt for Breakfast | jingersnaps

Leave a Reply

