Adventures in Gingerbread – Part One

So. There’s a lovely blogger lady about whom I have already gushed effusively, the wonderful Movita Beaucoup. She holds several no-holds-barred, throw-down, food-related contests during the year, one of which is Ginger 2012.

I have never gotten a chance to participate in one of these contests. Until now.

Bum bum buuuuuuuuummmmm!

Those were awesome suspense sound effects, by the way. Because…I have never made a gingerbread house. Ever.

There is mostly good reason for this. I’m not a big fan of ginger, as we all already know, and growing up in New Orleans just doesn’t lend itself to typical winter activities. Yes, we try to pretend it’s really cold and turn on the fireplace and drink hot chocolate and wear scarves like this is a normal activity in 60 degree weather, but really…you’ve got to have that undying holiday spirit in you to pull this off without feeling extremely silly. Gingerbread houses are just not a part of my family’s average holiday activities.

2012-12-11 004

And after all of this is over, I’m pretty sure that I still will have not made a gingerbread house.

2012-12-11 001

Because I am a big, ridiculous person who has to do something different. I can’t just make a little house and cover it in gumdrops, apparently.

2012-12-11 003

Nope.

2012-12-11 002

I have to make a gingerbread diorama. Of something completely non-holiday-related. Of course.

2012-12-11 022

Not Martha‘s awesome gingerbread recipe lends itself well to cutting out strange shapes, plus it has some extremely finicky steps, which usually guarantees that I am drawn to it like a moth to a flame.

2012-12-11 024

This also might be the only time I haven’t had problems with rolling out dough in my kitchen, probably because I made some serious concentrated attempts to cover everything in my kitchen in flour out of dough anxiety.

Did I mention strange shapes?

2012-12-11 025

2012-12-11 026

Yep. Birds.

2012-12-11 027

And a really messy countertop.

2012-12-11 030

There’s also a slight issue with me in that fully cooked gingerbread doesn’t really look all that different from raw gingerbread that I just put it in the oven. I’m crossing my fingers.

2012-12-11 032

2012-12-11 033

Now, I know that the seaside scene I’ve presented here doesn’t have much Christmas-y-ness to it, so here’s a sneak peek of some super secret presents…

2012-12-11 008

2012-12-11 017

Shh! Don’t tell.

Part Two…coming soon. Stay tuned.

2 thoughts on “Adventures in Gingerbread – Part One

  1. Pingback: Adventures in Gingerbread – Part Two: The Exciting Conclusion! | jingersnaps

  2. Pingback: ginger 2012 – group 3 « movita beaucoup

Leave a Reply

