New Year, New Project

While everyone was busy being thankful for the last year on their blogs, all I could think was (inbetween lusting after gorgeous photos of cakes and cookies and crafts and sweaters), “Man. My last year wasn’t all that fantastic.” No big projects completed that I was super proud of, especially in the knitting world. No huge job promotions. No turning of my life in a new and surprisingly amazing direction. We just trucked on like we always do, taking the changes and challenges on in-stride, but not being particularly inspirational or inspired. I got good grades, I designed and painted things, I typed a lot and took a lot of pictures of things, but nothing that bubbled to the surface while looking through all those wonderful accounts of the past year.

All I could dwell on were the negative aspects of 2011. To me, this is not surprising, as I tend to worry more about the world than most people. We moved across the country, and things have not exactly lived up to our expectations, and I feel like we are often struggling with this new life, especially monetarily. I worked hard at school and discovered upon moving back that most of the work that I had done had done nothing to move me further to my goal of nursing school. I have managed to get an entry-level job that I enjoy, don’t get me wrong, but that doesn’t really have anything to do with what I’ve studied in the past or am currently working toward. I helped to develop a great one-man show, but didn’t actually get to see it or help to create its production, due to the crappy, crappy timing of life. I know these things sound an awful lot like whining. I have no excuse, except that sometimes everyone needs the opportunity to whine.

Because of these factors, Dan and I have resolved to work harder to find the simple pleasures in our new life. To concentrate on the little things that we have and do that make us happy so that we can find happiness in each other and in the world, even though things might seem like they totally suck.

To encourage myself to embrace this, I started a 365 project where I am taking a picture everyday of something that makes me happy at some particular moment that day. I feel like further explanation of this concept would rob me of the joy of it, so here we go:

365 2012-01-01

Starting the new year off right with green tea and toast made by Dan (the only way to enjoy it, I think). Dan’s mom had sent us a Pepperidge-Farm-style basket with fancy little jellies in it, so I decided to have some with my toast that morning. Fancy grape jelly = happy Jinger.

365 2012-01-02

Dan and I broke out our new Zoku popsicle maker last night and made some apple juice popsicles. The process is quite intoxicating, with how meticulous and magical the freezing of those little pops seems.

365 2012-01-03

For Christmas, Dan got me some Steampunk-esque dice for D&D. This…is a huge step for Dan. Dan does not really like D&D and does not really understand why I love it so much (although he understands a little more after reading my post about it). For him to give me a gift that enriches my D&D experience, and that’s the only purpose for it…well…I was pretty much speechless for joyousness.

There we go. Here’s to new beginnings and new projects and new ways to find happiness and make this new life here in New Orleans something that I’ll look upon fondly at New Year’s 2013. I’ll stop whining now, I promise.

Leave a Reply

