Squirrel Updates? Well…

005

First things first. A boy, and a girl, and a squirrel went on a road trip from New Orleans to Austin.

2014-07-02 220

2014-07-02 225

The squirrel, we’ll affectionately call him Jeff (because that is his name), was a little confused.

He didn’t know that he was being transported over to his new future owner, the amazingly funny Mr. Eddie Izzard.

2014-07-02 230

2014-07-02 228

“Who’s this guy?”…he seemed to say. He was about to find out.

2014-07-02 234

My brother and his fiancée gave us a wonderful experience to celebrate my birthday this year: tickets to see Eddie Izzard’s new show, Force Majeure. Jeff was packed up into a lavender tote bag and carted off to the show, where he got a fantastic seat.

169

The squirrel’s perspective might leave a little too much to the imagination. Here:

165

Just imagine a fabulous man in a fancy suit, complete with top hat and umbrella standing right in front of that and being incredibly funny. That’s what it was like. (We are good little rule-abiding audience members, and we didn’t do any illegal picture-taking or recording during the show, so this is as good as it gets.) Make sure you add in the fact that I was smiling so hard that my face hurt. And clapping. And giggling like a lunatic. And really appreciating how many times the name Jeff got dropped.

Now, we need to back up just a little bit. Upon arriving at the venue, I made sure to find a responsible- and kind-looking usher-type security person so that I could ask them the best way to make sure that Jeff the Squirrel got to Eddie Izzard. All of the ladies I spoke to were extremely kind as I got sent higher and higher up the ladder of responsibility. My final conversation took place with a lovely woman who told us that he would be conducting a Q&A session in the lobby about 15 minutes after the show, and that she figured that the best time to see if I could get it to him would be then. We thanked her profusely and then walked into the theatre to enjoy the show.

And enjoy it we did. The man does not disappoint. He even threw out a bunch of callbacks to older bits, particularly lots of references to the Death Star Canteen (click it up for Lego interpretation hilarity), much to my happiness. He is, quite possibly, the only man in the world who can make a whole theatre full of people laugh while talking about human sacrifice. And for that, I adore him.

After the show ended, the audience began to travel to the lobby and condensed around the stairs, much to my chagrin because I am a very short person. Everyone was extremely eager to get photos and videos of the Q&A session, probably because documentation was not allowed during the actual show.

172

I was a little bit closer than this (Dan stayed off to the side in order to avoid the crush), but when you are not much taller than five feet, it’s very hard to make yourself noticed, even if you have a squirrel.

I had done my best on the days preceding the show to alert Mr. Izzard to the fact that I would be bringing him a handmade gift to the Austin show, but I didn’t receive any response, not really to my surprise.

squirreltweet

I am aware that most famous people with social media, especially extremely busy touring comedians who are also training for a marathon and preparing for a political career (Seriously. He is amazing.) probably do not do much of this for themselves. Either that, or they might not think that I am all that amusing, but I’d rather not think about that too much. All the same, I was hoping that he got the message and that it might have been slightly memorable enough to get through.

Unfortunately, it did not. I attempted to hold up Jeff in his lavender tote bag at every opportunity for question-asking, but was not really noticed, as far as I could tell. After the session was over, he was out of there fairly quickly, and I found my way over to the same super nice security-lady that I had spoken to before. However, this time, she handed Jeff the Squirrel off to a rather unsmiling man with an official-looking security headset. Even though he assured me that he would definitely pass him along, I got the feeling that there was yet another man in Austin who was not terribly amused by me or my handknit-animal shenanigans.

So Jeff went off into the ether, and I, ridiculously, had not enclosed any information with him as to my name or the name of my blog.

I know. I am terrible at self-promotion, apparently. I did send out another message into the Internet and directly to Eddie Izzard about Jeff’s fate, but I have not yet received any sort of response.

Cue the sad trombone.

That’s not to say that the whole trip ended up on such a blah note. Dan and I had a really great time, mostly stuffing all of Austin’s various food offerings into our faces, if my iPhone photos are any indication.

2014-07-02 226

Mexican food.

2014-07-02 231

Italian food. (I am such a sucker for anything with a completely obvious label, especially if it’s edible.)

2014-07-02 239

Argentinian food.

2014-07-02 240

Ice cream food. (I just typed ‘ice cream good’ on accident. This is the truth. Amy’s double chocolate chip with Reese’s peanut butter cups. I didn’t want to leave this place.)

2014-07-02 244

And some of the most delicious sushi ever set in front of me.

Plus, I made rice pudding for my brother and his fiancée…

2014-07-02 242

176

And assisted in harvesting some okra, which are now sitting in my fridge, waiting for me to pickle them. I am so excited.

179

Can we talk for a second about how beautiful okra flowers are? I had no idea. I want to fill my whole backyard with this stuff.

2014-07-02 238

I also received another amazing present, my very first manicure and deluxe pedicure experience, from my brother’s fiancée. I had only ever gotten a manicure once before, during my freshman year in college, and the lady doing it pretty much spent the entire time yelling at me about the state of my cuticles, so we’re just going to say that it doesn’t count. I had such a wonderful time being pampered, because it is certainly not something that I would ever have thought to do for myself. Anyone else in the healthcare field knows how much nursing can tear up your hands, and I felt (and still do even later!) super special and suddenly very ladylike. I took the opportunity to show it off and admire the teal against my newest pair of socks (details to come later).

—–

So? The final verdict? I can only hope that Jeff made it to his final destination safe and sound with Eddie Izzard. If not, I hope he ended up with someone who thought he was cute and will take care of him and that he didn’t get thrown in the trash. I’m going to try my best to not let the uncertainty get to me, because it was such a lovely trip and a wonderful present to receive.

2014-06-22 156

I will definitely not let any of this experience change my mind about knitting tiny animals for people who mean a great deal to me, especially if they are famous people. I am aware that it is a strange thing to do, but I feel that there are way weirder things to be known for on the Internet. I can only hope that they get to their owners eventually.

Maybe next time.

7 thoughts on “Squirrel Updates? Well…

  1. OK, I cannot really express how much I dig this post because EDDIE IZZARD. Yes.

    Definite Article is my favourite, but the Death Star canteen is glorious. Also Jesus explaining to God how he brought vampirism and cannibalism in on day one of his new religion. Also also also too many alsos.

    I really hope Jeff made it to him in one piece, though it’s possible that Jeff is an action squirrel and has gone to have adventures first.

    True story.

    • He’s an action squirrel. An executive squirrel. Running, jumping, climbing trees…putting on makeup when he’s up there.

      You would have adored the show! He did not shy away from any political or religious topic this time, and I think that’s it was definitely his most…topical? politically relevant? work to date. And there was much clanging of canteen trays as well. It was fantastic.

      • Swoon. Must look out for opportunities to watch a recording – never as good but needs must, after all.

        I saw him on the Glorious and Sexie tours, so I feel pretty lucky to have had two shots at a live show.

        The expression on Jeff’s face is so perfect. And he longs for a grapefruit.

  2. Pingback: I met Joy the Baker and gave her an eggroll. True story. | jingersnaps

  3. Pingback: Year-End Thankfulness and Awesomeness Round-Up (or…Thankful for Pie: Damn Fine Cherry Pie Super-Late Edition) | jingersnaps

  4. Pingback: Mr. Burton, I made you a scarf. | jingersnaps

  5. Pingback: Thankful for Pie 2016 (is the year over yet?) Edition | jingersnaps

Leave a comment